Multiple provinces signed on to the rent assistance program!


According to Global News and CP24, seven provinces have signed on to a rent assistance program as part of the national housing strategy. As of now, the Liberals announced that they have reached an agreement with four provinces (Ontario, Nova Scotia, Saskatchewan, and British Columbia) and will provide a Canadian housing subsidy for vulnerable renters such as low-income families, Indigenous people, veterans, and new immigrants. In a statement, Social Development Minister Ahmed Hussen said the national housing council will help the government to take a remarkable step forward in housing.